Who We Are

The Edisto Island Historic Preservation Society (EIHPS) is a 501(c)(3) non-profit corporation, founded for the purpose of preserving Edisto Island’s history. A 12-member board governs EIHPS. Over 700 member households support the organization. A staff of our director, a part-time administrative assistant and two part-time museum shop employees and a complement of volunteers operate the museum and advocate for historic preservation. If you would like to volunteer your time and talents in support of EIHPS, contact us.

2015 Edisto Island Historic Preservation Society Board of Directors
Sandra Marshburn,  President
Betty Davis, Vice-President
Dave Blauch, Treasurer
Cyndy McCormick, Secretary

Carroll Belser

Pam Bray
Betsy Daise
Louis Gentry
Jerry Haram
Cathy McWhorter
Albert Morrison
Debbie Spratlin


Edisto Island Historic Preservation Society Staff

Gretchen M. Smith, Director
Jenny Leckie, Administrative Assistant
Donna Walker, Museum Shop Assistant Manager
Fran Dionne, Museum Shop Assistant
Gene Gentry, Shop Assistant


To help us preserve the history and built environment of Edisto, join us as a member.

The mission of the Edisto Island Historic Preservation Society is to preserve and exhibit the history of Edisto, and to educate the public in these endeavors.

Visit the Gift Shop

Before you leave the museum, spend some time in our gift shop. we have a special section of books, games and toys for children as well as adults. We also feature a wide selection of one-of-a-kind, hand-made crafts from local artisans, including jewelry, pottery, wood carvings and paintings. And, because we're a non-profit organization, there's no sales tax so you save money while supporting a worthy cause. we hope to see you soon!

Contact Us

Address: 8123 Chisolm Plantation Road
Edisto Island, SC 29438

Phone: 843.869.1954
Fax: 843.869.2754
email: shop@edistomuseum.org